The Most Dominant Premier League Champions

Over the course of the Premier League, various teams have achieved incredible things, setting examples for others to follow. This list from showcases how different Premier League Champions have dominated over the years while others have triumphed against the odds.

Let’s take a look at the ten most convincing title-winning sides in Premier League history.

10. Leicester City – 2015/16 (10-point margin)

Leicester City wrote one of the most romantic stories in modern Premier League history back in the 2015/16 season, defying the odds to wrap up the crown in the most sensational ways.

Only a year after barely avoiding relegation, the Midlanders appointed Claudio Ranieri as their new chief of staff, despite the Italian being out of practice in England for more than a decade.

Even though they were never considered title material by any stretch of the imagination, the Foxes, led by N’Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy, conquered the best football league on the planet.

And they did it in remarkable fashion, leaving closest followers Arsenal ten points behind while finishing the season with a stunning +32 goal difference.

9. Manchester United – 1992/93 (10-point margin)

Going into the 1992/93 season, Manchester United were on an exhausting 26-year title wait in England’s top-flight, with Sir Alex Ferguson’s position in the dugout under heavy scrutiny.

But the Red Devils’ renaissance under the legendary Scotsman coincided with the introduction of the Premier League as well as Eric Cantona’s arrival at Old Trafford in November 1992.

United looked set for another disappointing domestic campaign as they were languishing in mid-table halfway through the second before the charismatic Frenchman turned their fortunes around.

Ferguson’s men went on to win the title, leaving runners-up Aston Villa ten points in their wake en route to setting the tone for a two-decade-long dominance of English football.

8. Manchester United – 2000/01 (10-point margin)

Between Ferguson’s first Premier League title in 1992/93 and the beginning of the new millennium, Man United lifted five league titles, including one in 1999/20.

So they started the 2000/01 season as defending champions and arguably the likeliest candidates to win the competition as they ultimately did by leaving second-placed Arsenal ten points behind.

United found the 2000/01 campaign a stroll despite losing six matches, as they finished the season as the division’s best team in terms of both attacking and defensive digits.

The highlight of the Red Devils’ dominant reign of the 2000/01 Premier League season was a 6-1 thrashing of non-other than Arsenal at Old Trafford in February 2001.

7. Manchester United – 2012/13 (11-point margin)

It was Ferguson’s final year at Old Trafford, and boy, oh boy, did not Fergie make sure to bow out in style?

Manchester City pipped United to the Premier League crown a season before, giving the Red Devils an added motive to prove their title credentials in 2012/13.

Once again, Ferguson’s men were up to the task, cruising to the title with four games to spare, a feat only managed on four occasions in the Premier League by that time.

Much of the credit for United’s brilliant run to the top of the standings went to Robin Van Persie, who finished as the league’s top-scorer with 26 goals in his inaugural Old Trafford season.

It has now been a decade since the Flying Dutchman guided Man United to their last Premier League triumph.

6. Arsenal – 2003/04 (11-point margin)

Arsene Wenger was no stranger to winning the Premier League title with Arsenal heading into the 2003/04 season, having done it twice before, back in 1997/98 and 2001/02.

However, what his Gunners side did in 2003/04 went a long way in the Premier League history books, establishing Arsenal as one of the most dominant title winners in the competition’s history.

With Patrick Vieira bossing the midfield and Thiery Henry doing ‘Thiery Henry’s things’ in the front third, Arsenal waltzed away with the title without losing a single game in the process.

Since no other Premier League side has ever achieved that feat before or after, Wenger’s ‘Invincibles’ (W26, D12) have stood the test of time until the present day.

5. Manchester City 2024/21 (12-point margin)


Pep Guardiola’s third Premier League title with Manchester City may have not been as convincing as his eye-catching triumph in 2017/18, but it has been his most special one for sure.

The Cityzens were written off as title candidates in December following a stuttering start to the season, with many doubting their ability to claw their way back into the run-in.

However, Guardiola’s side fashioned a memorable comeback, taking the Premier League by storm down the final stretch of 2024 and throughout the entire second half of the season.

Little did the doubters know City would be crowned champions with three matches to spare and leave second-placed Man United a staggering 12 points behind.

4. Chelsea – 2004/05 (12-point margin)


Jose Mourinho took no prisoners during his relentless effort to live up to his self-proclaimed status as ‘Special One’ in his maiden touchline season at Chelsea.

With no shortage of enthusiasm and hunger for success, the up-and-coming Portuguese tactician navigated the Blues to their first-ever Premier League title.

It is fair to admit that Chelsea found the 2004/05 season a walk in the park, losing just one game and conceding a mere 15 goals, a feat that still stands.

The fact they netted an average of 1.89 goals per league fixture during their unrelenting march to success plays down Mourinho’s reputation as a ‘park-the-bus’ manager.

3. Liverpool – 2019/20 (18-point margin)


Man City crashed Liverpool’s dreams of winning the title for the first time in the Premier League era back in 2018/19

But Jurgen Klopp’s men compensated for that nightmare by conquering the Champions League soon afterwards.

Yet, it always felt like the Anfield faithful would rather settle for one Premier League title than dozens of European crowns, and the Reds finally delivered in 2019/20.

A 30-year of waiting was brought to a halt as Klopp’s high-flyers bullied their title rivals throughout the season to ultimately seal the deal with a whopping 99 points to their name.

It is enough to say that Liverpool’s first league defeat in 2019/20 came in February, with reigning champions Man City lagging 18 points behind in the end.

2. Manchester United – 1999/2000 (18-point margin)


Many had thought that the historic treble in 1998/99 would see Man United run out of steam the following year, but were not they terribly wrong?

Instead of resting on their laurels, Ferguson’s Red Army went on to set an unprecedented feat (by that time) in the Premier League, winning the title by a resounding 18-point margin.

The Red Devils hit the ground running from the start and never showed signs of stopping, with their free-scoring attack tallying an intimidating 97 goals in the 1999/20 campaign.

1. Manchester City – 2017/18 (19-point margin)

Guardiola’s managerial career at the Etihad started with a whimper rather than a bang, with Man City going trophyless in the Spaniard’s first season in charge.

But the ex-Barcelona boss took no time to bounce back and silence his critics, guiding his side to the most dominant triumphs in the Premier League history.

Man City claimed the crown with five matches to spare, breaking numerous records in the process.

In fact, they became the first and only side in the competition’s modern history to have won 100 league points and left the runners-up 19 points in their wake, which is only the tip of the iceberg.

The Cityzens also recorded more victories (32), more away triumphs (16), more goals (106) and more consecutive wins (18) than any other Premier League side.