Dak Prescott Nominated for NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year


The Quarterback of the Cowboys’, Dak Prescott, is the nominee for the 2018 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. This award honors a player who has demonstrated a remarkable commitment to community service and philanthropy, besides their performance on the field.

The winner of NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year will be announced on February 2. The “NFL Honors” awards special takes place during the Super Bowl weekend. Each one of the 32 teams has a nominee and we’re all looking forward to seeing who will be the winner.


Roger Goodell, the NFL commissioner shared that The Man of the Year Award is an excellent way to acknowledge excellent players for their commitment on and off the field. The NFL is very proud of the work the players are doing and they really respect their impact and dedication.

Dak Prescott has done amazing things on and off the field. He founded a Fight Finish Faith Foundation in honor of his late mother. The foundation aims to empower and encourage people who are going through cancer fight and other challenging health issues. Prescott admitted that he was inspired by his mother who he hopes is proud of him.


Besides his foundation, Prescott also supports youth initiatives. In fact, he has partnered with many foundations in an aim to make a difference and help other people. So, he shares the passion with Just Keep Livin Foundation about involving children in after-school fitness. Moreover, he is part of other community outreach programs, including Make-A-Wish Foundation and The Salvation Army.


The Man of the Year Award means that the winner will have $500,000 donated in his name. Half of the donation will be given to charity the winner picks while the other half will be donated to expand the digital character education program of Character Playbook, the NFL and United Way. The rest of the nominees will receive a donation of $100,000. Half of the donation will go for expansion of the Character Playbook while the other half to a charity the nominee chooses. Some of the most recent winners of The Man of the Year Award has gone to former Cowboys, including Jason Witten, Roger Staubach, and Troy Aikman.